Chicken with cheese meatballs

It has been a while since I tried any new recipes, so I took the opportunity yesterday when Cindy was out of town. Sometimes she likes the adventure of a different food, sometimes not. Witness her near addiction to Taco Tuesday.

At any rate, I started thinking about trying something new using ground chicken. How about meatballs? I was also going for easy. Almost immediately after thinking of meatballs I thought of  sour cream sauce; don’t ask me why.

As I always do when I have one of these ideas, I went to the PC and Googled “chicken in sour cream sauce.” As you might imagine, I was not the first to have that idea. So I went through eight or nine recipes and failed to find one that seemed like what I had in mind, so I winged it. What follows is my take on the dish. With the exception of the ground chicken and the mushrooms, everything I used was already in our pantry or refrigerator.

Chicken with Cheese Meatballs
1 lb. Ground chicken
3/4 cup shredded cheese
1 1/2 Tbs. Minced garlic
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 can water
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
2 green onions, chopped

Mix chicken, cheese and garlic. Form into golf ball sized meat balls. Cover bottom of fry pan with oil and brown meatballs.
Mix soup, water, sour cream and mushrooms.
Move meatballs to casserole and cover with mixture.
Cover casserole and put in an oven preheated to 345 degrees for 40 minutes.
Salt and pepper to taste.
Serve over rice or noodles.
Garnish with chopped green onions.

You may wonder why I used cheese rather than the traditional bread crumbs and egg. I don’t like the texture you get with bread crumbs, and the egg is always messy. And the cheese adds a touch of flavor to the normally bland chicken, as does the garlic.

I actually used 2 Tbs of minced garlic but, and I never thought that I would say this, it was too much garlic, even for me. Also, I  considered making a gravy rather than using the soup, but I was lazy and I’ve never been good about making gravy from scratch. If you don’t mind making the gravy and then adding the sour cream, go for it. And finally, I garnished with chopped green onions because that is what I had. I actually think fresh parsley wold have been better.

If you try the recipe, I hope that you like the results. Cindy is getting leftovers tonight, probably served on top of couscous. I’m anxious to see her reaction to the garlic.

 

Leave a comment